For a Cleaner Sea

Our mission is to create a meeting place for Baltic Sea actors of all kinds. We are spreading knowledge and inspiration, and are annually awarding forerunners with the Baltic Sea Award. By these means, we want to draw the regions attention to our common and sensitive sea.

We are rewarding and highlighting the heroes of the Baltic Sea, people who show the way forward through their work and commitment. We also want to encourage new initiatives and engage more people.

The Award Ceremony 2020

Welcome to our digital Award Ceremony 2020! Get to know our Award Winners Marint Kunskapscenter, Markku Ollikainen and Överängs Kvarn and enjoy wonderful music by artists from Åland (in Swedish).

Award Winners 2020

Östersjöfonden has been awarding persons and organisations for significant and prominent efforts for the Baltic Sea environment since 1990. In total, approximately 950,000 euro has been awarded to 98 persons and organisations over the years.

Baltic Sea Award 2020

Marine Education Center (Marint Kunskapscenter)

The Marine Education Center from Malmö, Sweden is awarded 15,000 euros for its work in marine pedagogy. The center propagates knowledge of the Baltic Sea to many children, young people and adults and increases their…
Baltic Sea Award 2020

Markku Ollikainen

Professor Markku Ollikainen from Helsinki, Finland is awarded 15,000 euros for his work on cost-effective protection measures for the Baltic Sea and for his commitment to Finnish climate policy. Ollikainen, as chair of the Finnish…
Åland Award 2020

Överängs Kvarn

The family company Överängs Kvarn from Saltvik is awarded 3,000 euros for its work in ecologically producing and developing cereal products of Åland origin. Överängs Kvarn continuously develops new products for their product range in…


Here you will find up-to-date information about award ceremonies, events and other useful things!

9 September 2020

Award Ceremony 2020

Our traditional Award Ceremony has unfortunately been canceled in 2020 due to the Corona pandemic. Our award winners will receive their prizes digitally in September.
3 May 2020

Get to know your neighbour 2020

The event Get to know your neighbour was arranged for the seventh time with participants from Finland, Sweden and Åland. The participants looked into the future, making a road map for our journey for the decades to come. The results can be found here.
Nobel Peace Prize Winner, President Martti Ahtisaari

Patron of the Foundation

“Peace and security in society also requires a balance in nature. The pressure man causes the environment becomes more apparent every day that passes. Each of us must ensure that we act in a manner ensuring safe living conditions for future generations. It is important to encourage public authorities, researchers, representatives of the business community and citizens to save the Baltic Sea, which is close to us. I appreciate the Baltic Sea Fund’s work and am happy to be able to act as Patron of this foundation. “